If you run into debt, we’ll suspend access to promotion tools and resume it when the balance is in surplus.
Using these tools, you can promote products in search results, on PDPs, category pages, and other Ozon pages.
Promotion tools #
Stencils | Getting to the TOP | Promotion in search | |
---|---|---|---|
Placement | In search results and on category pages, promotional product selection pages, and recommendation shelves | In the top 12 positions in search results, categories, and on the pages of promotional product selections. | Higher positions on categories pages, in search results, stencil positions, and recommendation blocks, such as: "We also recommend", "Bought together", and "Customers also buy" |
Eligible products | All products except the ones prohibited for promotion | Products that have been redeemed at least once within the last 14 days | |
Payment model | Per clicks | Per order | |
Minimum weekly budget | For campaigns with enabled autostrategy: 3500 RUB For campaigns with manual rate management: 7000 RUB |
For campaigns with enabled autostrategy or manual rate management: 7000 RUB | Unlimited budget |
Minimum rate depending on the product category | From 7 rubles per click | 10 rubles | From 12,5% |
Ineligible products #
In all campaigns, it’s forbidden to promote:
- products containing nicotine and devices for their consumption, including hookahs, ashtrays, and lighters;
- alcoholic beverages;
- Covid tests;
- prescription medications.
Promotion mechanics #
Once you add your products to a promotion and set the rate, they start competing for a position in the auction.
Several thousand sellers can claim one position, so we use auction mechanics to determine which products customers will see. You can’t buy a specific position to place your products.
Auction mechanics #
The results of the auction depend on:
- the assigned rate: the amount in rubles or the percentage of the product price you’re willing to pay for an order or a click on the PDP;
- relevance of the product to customers' search queries;
- ranking factors;
- forecast of the number of clicks to the number of impressions (CTR): the likelihood that customers will be interested in your product.
Once a customer clicks the PDP or places an order, we charge the product rate. The amount charged depends on the promotion tool, the product position, and the auction type.
Promotion tool | Placement | Auction | Subject of charge |
---|---|---|---|
Getting to the TOP | Top 12 positions in search results | VCG auction | The amount that depends on competitors' rates and the number of clicks your product gets compared to products positioned lower in search results. The rate per click may be lower than the one you've set. |
Stencils | Search results and category pages, promo product selections, and recommendation shelves | First Price Auction | Rate per click or per order |
Promotion in search | All placements |
Example of calculating the rate per click for a VCG auction
A simplified example of rate calculation for the first 4 positions:
Winning rate | Position in search | Number of clicks | Number of additional clicks compared to the next position |
---|---|---|---|
10 RUB | 1 | 100 | 100 - 70 = 30 |
8 RUB | 2 | 70 | 70 - 50 = 20 |
5 RUB | 3 | 50 | 50 - 40 = 10 |
4 RUB | 4 | 40 | 0 |
Calculating the cost of the first 40 clicks for each product on each position, the cost of additional clicks, and the total average cost per click:
Winning rate | Position in search | Cost of the first 40 clicks | Cost of additional 10 clicks | Cost of additional 20 clicks | Cost of additional 30 clicks | Cost of all clicks | Average cost per click |
---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
10 RUB | 1 | 40 × 4 = 160 RUB | 10 × 5 = 50 RUB | 20 × 8 = 160 RUB | 30 × 10 = 300 RUB | 160 + 50 + 160 + 300 = 670 | 670 / 100 = 6.7 RUB |
8 RUB | 2 | 40 × 4 = 160 RUB | 10 × 5 = 50 RUB | 20 × 8 = 160 RUB | — | 160 + 50 + 160 = 370 | 370 / 70 = 5.2 RUB |
5 RUB | 3 | 40 × 4 = 160 RUB | 10 × 5 = 50 RUB | — | — | 160 + 50 = 210 | 210 / 50 = 4.2 RUB |
4 RUB | 4 | 40 × 4 = 160 RUB | — | — | — | 160 | 160 / 40 = 4 RUB |
Comparison of the resulting average cost per click for 4 products with the rates that the participants set initially:
Position | Winning rate | Average cost per click | Amount saved in % with VCG auction |
---|---|---|---|
1 | 10 RUB | 6.7 | (10 - 6.7) / 10 = 33% |
2 | 8 RUB | 5.2 | (8 - 5.2) / 10 = 35% |
3 | 5 RUB | 4.2 | (5 - 4.2) / 5 = 16% |
4 | 4 RUB | 4 | — |
With a VCG auction, you pay at your rate for the clicks you receive compared to the nearest competitor on the lower position. For the rest of the clicks, you pay at the rates of the competitors positioned even lower. Due to this, the average rate per click can be significantly lower than the one with which you won the auction for impressions.
You can view the average cost per click with a VCG auction in the report or on the campaign page. To do this, compare the value in the Cost per click column with the rate that you’ve set in the campaign.
The amount saved using the VCG auction is displayed in the “Getting to the TOP” campaigns with manual rate management.